Honesty of Children

a crazy, crying person

Sunday, November 29, 2015

Today I am grateful for the honesty of children.  We are on the road, heading towards home today, exhausted, happy and 400 pounds heavier. . .including the poor car which has unloaded stuff we brought and loaded stuff we got here a dozen times.

 

I am weary of channeling the Joad family from “The Grapes of Wrath” and ready to be home where things are in place and reasonable order.  Don’t get me wrong.  I loved every minute of our visits in the various locations.  All were fun.  All were happy.  All were welcome.

 

But it wasn’t until my youngest grandson who is eight, had a mini-meltdown from sheer exhaustion on Friday that I realized how beat I was.  He’s a great kid, who handles just about anything as long as he’s not tired, or hungry, but mostly tired.  Then he crashes in demo-derby destruction just like his dad did before him and no amount of reason will help.  Just space and sleep.

 

I wished I was eight a few times during this trip, so that I could throw my head back in full drama, let out a few wails, followed by projectile tears and flop myself to the ground in exhaustion.  Gotta love the pure honest emotions of children.  Maybe next time.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment