Comics – Pickles

A Pickles couple dancing

Sunday, November 5, 2017

Today I am grateful for comics.  I used to read more of the comics in the newspaper but there are some that got so odd I just didn’t bother.  I like the Family Circus, but related more when my kids were little.  I’ve tried to understand Hi & Lois and failed miserably.  My mom won’t miss Garfield, especially when he’s having lasagna.

 

Himself was a huge Prince Valliant fan but I could never get past the hair.  He still reads the Sunday funnies from cover to cover, sometimes making me read Doonesbury but always making sure I see Pickles, written by Brian Crane.  Brilliant!

 

I don’t know if you’ve ever seen Pickles, but check it out.  Back in the day I thought the old man and lady were just like my parents.  Not anymore.  Earl is forever having trouble hearing.  Opal knits like a fool.  They have found a way to co-exist in a very real way.  Just like us.

 

So yesterday, every single thing we touched either fell on the floor or broke or spilled or, well, you get the picture.  Then the rental dog, Emma, needed to go out.  I hooked her up and was standing in the back yard saying, “Hurry, hurry, hurry” so she could find the blade of grass that would merit her poop.

 

Himself rushes to the door, slides it open and is soon at my side asking, “What?  What is it?”  Of course, I look at him like he’s nuts and ask what in the world he’s talking about.  He says, “I thought you were calling me.”  Nope.  I was trying to hurry up the dog.

 

He starts to laugh and says, “We ARE Pickles!  I’m Earl and you’re Opal!  No doubt about it.”  Sometimes the truth is hysterical.  Even with a dog flopping around the yard wondering why her poop is so damned funny!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comics – Pickles

  1. Marie A. Bishop says:

    TERRIFIC!!!!! Making one laugh – you have the touch!!!

Leave a Reply

