Community Day at the North Penn Mosque

Saturday, October 07, 2017

Today I am grateful for the Community Day at the North Penn Mosque.  If you have a mosque in your area, I would highly recommend you visit it.  The people will welcome you with open arms, I guarantee it.

 

Before we moved to Jakarta, Indonesia and lived in very close proximity to a mosque and many, many people of Muslim faith, I confess I was a bit leery of them.  Their methods were strange to me and a little scary.  Then I got to wondering if they might not feel the same way if they went to a Latin mass in a Roman Catholic Church, or if the hymns of my childhood Lutheran church would confuse them.  Probably.  We often fear different. . .until we understand it.

 

I was hoping I would bump into former students from the school I used to work at, but I didn’t see any of them or their parents.  Or if they were there I didn’t recognize them, nor them me.  It’s okay.  I did bump into a fifth grader who is still at that school who has the new 6th grade teacher but knew the others I mentioned very well.  Let’s see if she tells them about us meeting like I asked her to.

 

My friend and I were welcomed into the female side of the mosque, a very simple room boasting a beautiful new carpet since the last time I visited.  Two young women were deep in conversation, taking a breath long enough for me to ask if I might take a picture of the poster on the wall.  “Of course,” she said.  “Please do.  That is why we have this event. . .so people will understand what we are about.”

 

I confess that when leaving, my heart skipped a beat for Jakarta, Indonesia and the wonderful Muslim people I knew there.  Many are now dead, but they will live on in my heart forever.

 

I have no idea how I remembered the Muslim greeting I blurted out all morning.  My dear sister/friend Tati must have been whispering those foreign words into my soul.

“As-Salaam-Alaikum.”  (Peace be unto you.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Community Day at the North Penn Mosque

  1. Marge Bowman says:

    Too bad you are not attending part two of Islam at Expanding Horizons on Thursdays. We had the same speaker last Spring and this is a continuation and expansion dealing with the Muslim world of faith. It is enlightening to hear, without all the hate, of another faith.

    Sent from my iPad. Now go and make it a good day”

    >

Leave a Reply

