Roadie Grunt

IMG_2036

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Today I am grateful to be a roadie grunt.  People who watch live shows or talks have no idea how much work it is.  When I was doing frequent talks on China it took me hours to prepare, an hour to pack up and unpack at the venue and another hour to put it all away when I got home.  And that was just a bunch of stuff to display and a slide show.

 

Himself did a magic show today and while he loves it, boy is it a commitment.  He spent an hour practicing, a couple of hours to pack up and load everything in the car, with the help of a son and granddaughter, then another hour to unload and set up and another to put it all back.  I wish we had a spare room on the main floor of our town house, but we don’t so when he catches his breath it all has to go back to the basement.  His man cave amongst the usual basement stuff.

 

When I told him that I was going with him to the magic show today he was not thrilled.  I was insulted.  Then I realized that I tend to critique him from the back row, motioning for him to speak louder and keep his head up and move things along.  I can’t help myself.  It’s the theater person in me.  When I realize this was why he didn’t want my help I said, “I’m not going to stay.  I’ll just help you unload and pack up after it’s done.”

 

At that he jumped!  It’s okay.  I get it.  I make him nervous.  I want him to enjoy doing this so when everything was in and I had helped set up what I could,  I made tracks. . .like any other well-trained roadie grunt!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

