Writing in Paradise

a lake view from Kathryns

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Today I am grateful to be writing in paradise.  I am a writer.  Saying those four short, simple words still shocks and amazes me.  Even though I write nearly every day at the computer and every day for sure in my head, sometimes I still feel like I am a fraud.

 

I have no novel.  I’ve published a little, but not very much.  Yet there is so much to say that I am never at a loss for words.  Blogging has allowed me to exert my voice whenever I want.  And people read my words.  Sometimes they comment, but even if they don’t I allow myself the fantasy of picturing strangers at their computers, or on their phones; a smile curling the corner of their lips, or a chuckle rumbling in their belly and exploding from them like fireworks; or that feeling when your eyes fill up because some sentence, some phrase tugs at your core.  Yeah that.  I picture them.  I picture you.  And it fills me up like sand in an hourglass, waiting to turn over and fill me up again.

 

But how did this happen?  How did I come to be at this spectacular location on a lake with five great women.  Virtual strangers.  Writers!  One and all!  Talented people with books and stories and poetry. . .and me. . .the fraud.

 

What caused a retired hairdresser, actor, director, sculptor, artist, secretary to be writing in paradise?  “You should come!” the hostess wrote.   So I did.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writing in Paradise

  1. Marge Bowman says:

    Finally catching up enough to comment. Sounds like you are having a great time with your two seminars. Have fun, make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver and the other gold. Marge

    Sent from my iPad. Now go and make it a good day”

    >

  2. Marie A. Bishop says:

    continue to ENJOY and LEARN….. what a perfect setting……tell us all when you return. mab

  3. Jacki Hunsberger says:

    But never retired from life!

Leave a Reply

