Her Daddy’s Look

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Today I am grateful for her daddy’s “look”.  When my oldest son was almost two, a dear friend of mine took a fantastic picture of him with a sideways glance and his arms crossed in front of him.  I think that picture has been lost in a billion moves and shuffles because I haven’t seen it in years, but it is still fresh in my mind.

 

Babysitting for our year old granddaughter reminded me of that picture.  She has attached herself to grandpa like a barnacle.  He could not leave a room without dragging her with him.  The only way he could sneak to the bathroom alone was if I distracted her with food or blocks.  She’s not clingy, or whiny, just certain about what she wants.  And she wants grandpa!  All day!  Every day!!

 

Because Himself and I came into our relationship with three (his) and two (mine)kids, four cats (two his, two mine) and a puppy (adopted), I never saw how he was with babies and little kids until our first grandson was born.  What a gift.  That was 26 years ago and the kids have kept coming ever since.  The latest was a surprise for us because we thought we were all done getting grandbabies.

 

At 81, Himself is still the first one to the floor with the baby, building with blocks and taking all manner of abuse as she learns to “hand” him something, but does it more like Joe Frasier, with a right hook.  He complains, “You’re stepping on my hand, my foot, my . . .,” well you know what. . . but he doesn’t mean one word of it.  He loves it.  And I love watching.

 

My caption for this picture is:  “Look what I found!  A great big grandpa toy who never gets sick of me!  Want some?”  And here she looks like her daddy did, so many years ago.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Her Daddy’s Look

  1. Marie A. Bishop says:

    Isn’t that sooooo wonderful!!!

Leave a Reply

