Aware

a pansy plant at Lois's

Monday, May 1, 2017

Today I am grateful to be aware.  For a large part of my life I padded along oblivious to what was going on around me.  I pretended I had a clue what basic items in my life were like, but I really didn’t.  Now I do.  And I love it.  I love being aware.

This might get a tad sappy so I apologize if you need an extra trip to the dentist, but I’m a bit caught up.  Maybe it’s the barometric pressure change, but I am noticing everything as though I was on some unbelievable drug.  Though I never took unbelievable drugs outside of a medical situation, so I don’t have a huge frame of reference.  Everything in the last few days is enhanced.

Even sitting in the recliner, where I do most of my writing, I can hear the whir of the air conditioner and it feels peaceful.  If I tip my head back I can see the beautifully colored eyes of the peacock feathers, catching the breeze of the AC, dancing over me.  I warned you.  Cavities yet?

When I woke up this morning I realized that I had had a very good night sleep.  Where usually I’m getting up more and sometimes too close to morning, like 3, 4, or 5, last night I got up at 12:30 and the next time I woke up was 6:30.  For me that’s a miracle.

It always feels good slipping into the water at the pool, but today it felt amazing, encompassing. . . forgiving. . .for that extra slice of pizza I had yesterday. The hot water and pressure in the shower didn’t disappear when someone flushed like it usually does; the floor where I dress wasn’t as wet as it usually is; the scream of the hair  dryer didn’t sound like an engine jet.  It was all just right.  Am I mellowing in my old age?

There is a lovely woman training two dogs to be service dogs and she brings them to the Silver Sneakers Class before we begin.  She wants them to experience the chaos of chairs scrapping on the floor, balls bouncing when they get away from us geezers, and elastic bands dangling all over the place.  The young one, Pippa,  is smallish, black and white with fur that feels like the best velvet in the world.  She licks a little, but not too much, is still a bit skittish with the confusion, but passed her test last weekend with flying colors.  She’s training to go into nursing homes as a therapy dog and can’t be afraid of canes, wheelchairs and people reaching out at her willy-nilly.  Today she was therapy for me.

Seeing, really seeing what is around me is such a gift.  I finally figured out the pictures and was playing with them yesterday.  I saw color you can almost smell!  Spring.  And flowers and dogs and the pool and a good night sleep can take you all over the place, so you don’t miss a thing.  Like the breathtaking pansy’s my neighbor has on her front stoop.  They whisk me off to Paris every time I pull in the driveway.  I smile every time I see them.

Oh for Pete’s sake, get a grip, MM!  Where are all of those snarky, sarcastic comments?  Don’t know.  Just not today!  Now go make a dentist appointment! And be aware.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

