Kitchen Table Time

Anja - easter 2017

Monday, April 17, 2017

Today I am grateful for kitchen table time.  On a fluke, the day before Easter, I was remembering sitting at the kitchen table with one of my granddaughters and how wonderful the one-on-one time was.  So I texted my oldest granddaughter and asked her if she might be able to come a little early so we could chat.  She did.  What a gift.

 

This young woman has it together.  When she starts telling a story you have to listen fast because it rattles out of her like gravel coming out of a shoot, with the almost the same sound.  Grandpa usually needs an interpreter.  She’s moved a bit beyond using “like” in every sentence and as a senior in high school, soon to be college girl, I would expect nothing less.

 

We talked about her family, her teachers, being a senior, the boyfriend, the bff, college, and just plain foolishness.  It was fantastic!  And rare.  But it’s okay, because I remember what it was like to be that age and I didn’t have much time to fit my grandma into my social life, either.  But, oh boy, if my kitchen table could talk. . .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

