Bright Enough TV Shows

a dark underground scene

Friday, April 14, 2017

Today I am grateful for TV shows bright enough to make out what in the world is happening on them.  But there sure aren’t many.  And it frustrates me.

 

We don’t have a mega screen TV in the living room, but it is far from the tiny 12 inch black and white that we used to have back in the day.  Then I could make out everything that was happening on the screen.

 

Now, it seems that the producers and directors are all about “mood”.  Which means no light.  Or one flipping candle expected to show the entire room.  Everyone slinks around in the dark, slipping past doorways and lurking in corners and it makes me crazy.  Don’t tell me to adjust the brightness on my TV because I don’t know how and I’m having enough issues with the new cell phone to start futzing around with more technology.

 

I am watching the TV series “Underground”.  Okay, I get it that the slaves moved around at night.  I understand that they were hiding.  In the dark. But please remember that if you want to get your point across at all, the audience has to be able to see who is going where with whom.  And what’s the point of us watching if we don’t know who has stabbed, hanged, bitten, screwed, shot, smiled, or passed a note to someone?

 

Stories are complicated.  Just like life.  Which is the ultimate story.  I have already spent many great times in my youth under an old, khaki army blanket with a flashlight.  I don’t want to feel like I’m under that blanket when I’m watching TV.  Turn on the damned lights!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bright Enough TV Shows

  1. Jacki Hunsberger says:

    I totally agree!! Also they whisper a lot…no it’s not my hearing. As soon as I give up and turn it up, the volume goes up to normal, and it’s now too loud!! Can’t win. Also the volume is different from channel to channel. I hate it!!!

  2. marymooney says:

    All of what you said is true. Plus the commercials are loud and the program is a whisper. And there is nothing wrong with MY hearing either. If the bloody program is a “secret” that no one can hear, then don’t even bother producing it. Geeze.

Leave a Reply

