Being Curious

Friday, March 31, 2017

Today I am grateful for being curious.  Did you ever wonder what stories houses would tell if they could talk?  No?  Well I have.  And there is a house we go past all of the time, but we usually are on the street in front of it.  I call it texture house because every color, style, addition, configuration or texture known to man have appeared on this house since I’ve known it.

 

The other day I was wending my way from point A to point B down almost all side roads.  I was just sick of the pace of the main roads, with urgent people metaphorically pushing me to move over, go faster, run the light, jump the gun, or otherwise get the Hell out of their way.  I needed the calmness and adventure of the side roads.

 

Note that you should never do this if you are in a hurry because there are people way, way slower than me either doing the same thing, or not qualified to drive on a bigger street.  I met them all.  It’s okay.  I also hit every stop light, which is also alright.  For once I wasn’t in a hurry.

 

It was at the stop light at “Texture House” that I realized I had rarely seen it from this side street and it was an altogether different experience.  Just like texture.  Brush it one way and it feels one way, the other you get something different.  Change an angle when looking at Texture House and it looks and feels completely different.

 

Then I noticed a basement entrance and a metallic contraption with a gear thingy standing near it.  Is this place a historical site?  Was it some sort of meat factory and this was a meat grinder?  Was it part of the underground railroad like so many old houses were in our area and this gizmo was part of the mystery?  Did someone run a bakery out of the basement and grind flour here?  Or is it just a contraption someone who once lived in the house bought at a yard sale, installed and never took with them when they left.

 

My curious mind wants to know.  For local folks, the house is on the corner of Orvilla and I think Koffel Road.  Does anyone have a clue what the contraption is?  It’s cropped from the bigger picture so I know it’s a challenge.  Go!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Being Curious

  1. Jacki Hunsberger says:

    Looks like an antique recumbent bicycle!

  2. Marge Bowman says:

    I know the house, but never saw that side. We are usually headed toward Forty Foot Rd on Koffel.

    On Fri, Mar 31, 2017 at 8:16 PM, heartprintsdotcom wrote:

    > marymooney posted: ” Friday, March 31, 2017 Today I am grateful for being > curious. Did you ever wonder what stories houses would tell if they could > talk? No? Well I have. And there is a house we go past all of the time, > but we usually are on the street in front of it. ” >

Leave a Reply

