Unexpected Date

orchestra-painting

Monday, February 27, 2017

Today I am grateful for an unexpected date.  I did not post yesterday because I was invited on a date with my oldest son.  He had two tickets to the Kimmel Center, where the Philly Pops performed Broadway.  Yes!  I was on a train in less than an hour to meet him.  What fun to be spontaneous and do something that had nothing to do with huge decisions, packing, moving or politics!

 

There is simply nothing like live music.  I could watch and listen to it forever.  And each time I do I am certain that many, many of those fantastic musicians probably began learning music in a public school program.  I love them even more for their dedication and continuation of their art.

 

Yesterday afternoon was great.  Neither of us were blown away by the first half, but only because the musicals presented there were not my favorites.  Just not a big fan of “Miss Saigon” and “Wicked”.  I know I’m odd, but you already knew that.

 

The second half, after intermission, was blow-me-out-of-my-chair spectacular.  I started bawling with the first number and was still bawling when I walked out.  Even my son shed a tear or two.  The music in Phantom and Les Miz is just sooo good.  In my core, the deepest part of my soul, I can sing and perform like the soloists did.  Their vocal control turned me inside out with emotion.  Anyone can sing loud, but to still have power while barely whispering is a true test of talent.

 

But the best was going on a date with my grown son whose in a graduate program, married only a few years, with a new baby and a full-time job as a Philly math teacher.  The gift of “time” by being asked to go on an unexpected date with him was just the best!  BING!  Heartprint!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

