Diversion

a-crying-world-pic

Saturday, January 28, 2017

Today I am grateful for a diversion.  Himself and I went to two movies today.  First we saw, “Hidden Figures” and then “Fences”.  I loved them both for very different reasons.  And I cried at both of them for very different reasons, but I’m only going to talk about the first one tonight.

No real spoiler alert here, because if you know anything about “Hidden Figures” you already know that it is set in 1961, at the beginning of the Space Program.  I was eleven years old and living with mom and dad in white-bread Sheboygan, Wisconsin.  I make no apologies for how and where we lived and the fact that there were no people of color in my life.  That was then and this is now and I’m happy to say I now have people of color in my family and also good friends. The same goes for people of different religions, including Muslim.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.

But back then, in this movie, watching one of the characters running a half mile to use a “colored” restroom it hit me like a ton of bricks.  How far we’ve come.  How easily we can slip back.  I don’t want to.  I don’t want my America to be racist.  I don’t want it to keep people out, I want it to bring people in.  I don’t want bans and despair, I want inclusion and hope.

Imagine the tears I shed when we got home and I learned about the ban on half the world entering America.  Is this supposed to make me feel more safe?  It does not!  Not even a little.  I feel more terrified tonight than I did on 9/11 when planes flew into our buildings, killing our citizens and devastating our core.  Where have our values gone?  Our sense of decency?  Our brains?  Are there any brains running the government right now or are all of them puppies to the supposed “leader” and seeking only what is good for their egos and wallets?  I’m not trying to be a wise-ass, I’m serious!  Where?

I am certain there are people out there cheerleading the new administration for “taking control”.  I am not one of them.  Whenever you start a new job it is wise to monitor and LISTEN and learn before sweeping out established successes.  So many serious changes so soon is just plain irresponsible.  Take a breath.  Study, be diplomatic or at least bloody well try!  Before your egos and maniacal decisions get us all killed!  Or worse. . .hated by everyone!  Which to me IS worse than death.

I have a lot of Muslim friends and I am ashamed by the decisions made in my name as an American citizen.  Ashamed.  And a special shame on those of you who are doing this to our “land of the free, home of the brave.”  Shame on you all!

As sad as I was watching that poor black woman in the movie, running a half mile in heels, in the rain, just to take a pee. . .that’s how sad I am tonight as I watch my country NOT becoming “great again” but slipping back into archaic thinking and some pretty ugly times.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

