Well-Made Bed

bed-sheets-side

Thursday, January 26, 2017

Today I am grateful for a well-made bed.  I’m very picky about how the bed is made because I am pretty much the princess in the story, “The Princess and the Pea”.  If things are bunched up or clumped or uneven I just can’t find my spot and feel out of sorts.

 

Himself and I have struck and agreement.  He empties the dishwasher and takes the pillows off the bed.  I make the bed, but only if he is up before I leave, because otherwise it’s too lumpy.

 

This morning I got up a little later and decided to bag the exercise class and only teach the kids, so I had a little time and emptied the dishwasher. He got up a little earlier than usual.

 

He wouldn’t care if the bed was ever made and when he does make it that theory is reflected in his methods.  I finally got him to smooth it out enough so it doesn’t look like a cat got stuck under the quilt, but sheets are always askew and blankets not even so one of us freezes or sweats to death.  Today was no exception.

 

But how can I ever expect him to keep stepping up to the plate if I criticize?  So today, when he came out of the bedroom he said, “I made the bed,” I thought, oh boy. . .and said, “Thank you, that was nice of you.”  I can fix it before we go to bed tonight and he’ll never know. . .or care.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

