Breaking My Own Rule

a-inspiring-message

Friday, January 13, 2017

Today I am grateful to be breaking my own rule.  Two days ago I set the rule for myself that I would not go on the computer after 7 p.m.  It’s 9:30.  Ask how that rule is working out?  The first night I slept great but since I was awake at 4:30 a.m. today, I figure all bets are off.  But I wasn’t inspired to actually write anything, so for kicks,  I went back to the beginning of my blog and looked up the same date three years ago.  Guess what it was on.  Karma?  Kismet?  Happy coincidence.  Turns out I inspired somebody pretty significant.  Myself!  Enjoy the re-run.

_____________________

Monday, January 13, 2014

Today I am grateful for inspiration.  It’s a wonderful feeling to be inspired to try something new, to do something different, or create something wonderful.  People who inspire are the best.  They are the encouragers in this world.  I walk among inspiring people.

 

You say you want to try painting something other than your toenails and they say, “Go ahead!”  You say you want to write something other than a grocery list and they say, “You should.  Start now.”  You say you want to start an exercise program even though you’ve sat on the couch with the intensity of an aerobic activity for 40 years and they say, “Sure.  You can do it.  Take it easy, go slow, but go ahead.  You’ll be fine.”  You say you would like to start a blog if you knew what it was and they say, “I’ll help.”  You say I can’t, I’m afraid, it’s impossible, what if and how?   And they say, “you can, I know, it’s possible and the ‘what if’s’ and ‘how’s’ will always be there. . .so what?”

 

Being inspired is great.  It’s empowering and fulfilling. Then one day, you’re “wasting” time poking through Facebook and your reading messages and comments and it dawns on you that something you’ve wanted forever has happened.  You’ve inspired someone else.  And that’s the best inspiration of all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

