Roof Over My Head

roof

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Today I am grateful for the roof over my head.  Very simple, yet so true.  There was a time, a very long time ago, when I thought the bank would take away the house I was trying to raise my boys in.  So I get it when people wind up homeless.

 

I think of the temperatures dropping and can’t help but remember the kids I knew when I worked at the school who lived in mom’s car, or shuffled from one “friends” house to another.  Sometimes when they got a little help and found an apartment, they only had enough money for a few mattresses. . .on the floor.  But they had a roof over their heads.  An address.  Some place to call home.

 

In Indonesia, because of the climate, many people have only a roof, no real walls, or if any, just a few.  Many compounds are filled with extended family members, with the eldest living under a simple roof over a bed, smack in the middle of the courtyard.  “Why?” I asked.  “Because so everyone, all of these people around, can take care of old man.”  Talk about wisdom!  Empathy!  Kindness!

 

How simple.  How complicated.  How basic.  I bet you haven’t thought about your roof in a long, long time.  Me, either.  But today, now that temperatures are dropping, I am very grateful for the roof over my head.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

