Kismet Times Kismet

a-kismet-slogan

Saturday, November 26, 2016

Today I am grateful for Kismet times Kismet.  My daughter-in-law and I had a long discussion about this sort of thing on Thanksgiving.  Since she lost her dear father and our dear friend, Wally, she has had a keen awareness of his presence in a positive way.

We agreed that when you throw “good” out into the world, “good” comes back.

This morning when I popped into Kohls to use up my ten dollar coupon before it expired, I went to put my purse in the pouch of one of their useless carts.  There in the bottom was a small, zipped wallet.  I thought it might be a child’s toy, since it was on the seat section, so I unzipped it a bit.  Credit cards, ATM card and a license.  I immediately took it to one of the checkout lane.  The clerk notified the office and yes, a woman had called a few times, frantic about losing her wallet.  I’m glad I found it.  Merry Christmas to her.

Later in the day we went to take advantage of the large appliance Black Friday sales.  We got the usual money off, then extra.  Kismet!  Exhausted I slumped into a soft chair to wait for details to be ironed out.  I hate shopping.  A lovely woman with two boys started chatting with me about her financing.  “You are preaching to the choir on this one,”  I said to her.  “I was told that appliances last about 10 years, which is ridiculous, and mine are all 13 years old, except the dishwasher.  But nothing matches.”  She told me her stove had died and so had her dish washer.  Today she could only afford to buy a stove.

“Well, if you had a way to haul it, like a truck, then you could take my old dishwasher.  We got a really good deal on new but it is still working just fine,” I said, laughing.

“My husband has a truck and I have these two strong boys,” Daisy (my favorite flower) laughed back.  I told her it was white and hers for the taking.  White is what she needs, so she was very grateful while we were exchanging numbers.  I told her I’d call her as soon as I knew which day they were delivering our stuff and I’d have them put it in the garage for her husband to pick up.  She hugged me.  Perfect.  Kismet for her, too, I’m sure.

We went back to negotiating our appliances and got a bunch more money off because what we wanted was a close-out and also the floor model.  Then there were two tiny dimples, so more money off.  Then the computer locked the manager out so we were there forever so there was more money off.  Kismet again!

Oh, and how does our old long-passed friend, wheeler-dealer Wally come into the mix?  Guess what Daisy’s last name was?  Yup!  The very same last name as his.  Kismet times kismet, all around.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kismet Times Kismet

  1. Jacki Hunsberger says:

    Yeah, yeah team!

  2. Marge Bowman says:

    Loved the story. Everyone was a winner. Have a Godfilled rest of the weekend. Marge

    Sent from my iPad. Now go and make it a good day”

    >

Leave a Reply

