Little Girls Singing

a-girl-singing

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Today I am grateful for little girls singing.  I was in a shower stall at the YMCA this morning after my classes and two little girls, maybe 3 & 5 or 4 & 6, I’m not sure, entered the stall next to me with mom, who was great with them.

“You girls share the water now, so you stay warm. . . not too much shampoo. . .please don’t push your sister. . .be careful. . .”  You get the picture.  And the entire time she was instructing them, they were singing.

 

“Old Macdonald had a farm and a pig eieiooo-BINGO was his name-o-twinkle twinkle little star, how I wonder what you are. . .and on that farm he had a moo. . .Bingo was his name-o. . .”  They had more “keys” than the pentagon.

 

I can’t recall all of the tunes they hit on but it was a riot.  I found myself trying to guess where they would next head, and sometimes I was correct.  Bingo was a recurring theme.  They kept it up when mom was trying to get them dressed around the corner from me.  Oh how I remember those droning moments little kids get into.  Mom was saying, “Girls, there are other people in here who might not want to hear your songs, so please not so loud.”  They’d pull it back for the first verse and then Twinkle-twinkled in full belt.  Bingo was his name-o.

 

I loved it!  Few things bring as much joy as little girls singing. . .even if they are doing a slightly off-key, very loud medley of every children’s song know to humankind!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

