Thrift Store Bed Spreads

mae-west-himself

Monday, October 31, 2016

Today I am grateful for thrift store bed spreads.  I figure if I posted yesterday’s costume where I looked like a complete lunatic, I must also post a picture from a long, long time ago where I rocked Mae West pretty well.

 

It was a surprise party for Himself before we were married. . .and he married me anyway.  We actually did Mae and WC Fields a few times and as he got older he rocked WC a little better, too.  Can’t find those pictures.

 

When I showed this to him he told me how much he loved that costume.  It was a bedspread I got at a thrift store.  I cut it and literally sewed it on my body while I had it on.  The capped sleeves are real mink from a coat collar that was also for sale at the thrift store, sans the coat.  Voila!  A costume.

 

I hope everyone is out there having a wonderful time trick or treating.  I know people hate to keep running to the door, but it sure is something I miss since we live in Geezerland and no one comes here.  I love seeing all of the creativity with thrift store bed spreads that are made into great costumes.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thrift Store Bed Spreads

  1. Sue says:

    Love the picture. Himself with hair and you look divine. We use to go to parties on Halloween too and they were fun. We were Frankenstein and the bride of Frankenstein. I wore my wedding gown and a rubber full head mask. Today I wouldn’t be able to breathe in that mask

    . No trick or treaters here too.

  2. marymooney says:

    Sue, I can’t handle masks at all anymore. Too claustrophobic and hot I guess.

Leave a Reply

