Parties

Sunday, October 30, 2016

Today I am grateful for parties.  My niece and her husband had a Halloween Party in Wisconsin and we went to one here.  What fun.

 

Not too many people have real parties anymore.  Why?  I’ll tell you why.  It’s a helluvalotawork, that’s why!  Our hosts had their entire basement decorated with flashing faces and ghoulish characters.  Very cool.  There was a fire pit outside and the kids ran around in the new tree house.  Snicky-snacky foods are always the best at things like this so people’s faces don’t melt into the soup.  Ghoulish is one thing, but the reality of someone’s body parts in my food is another.

 

There were a lot of cool costumes and some didn’t wear costumes at all.  One guy, around my age, looked like he always does.  I asked him if he came as a curmudgeon? He said, “No, I’m a prick.”  Best line of the night.  We met a lot of new, cool people and re-connected with others we don’t see often.

 

Himself spent the afternoon “accessorizing” our costumes, running all over the place to do it.  Then we both added finishing touches.  Sadly his dragging rats don’t show up well on the pictures.  He was the Pied Piper and I was Velma of Valkrie, his Battleaxe.

 

He had to drive to the party because I couldn’t get out of my own way and we got to talking about how wacky we are.  I agree. . .yet I don’t.  We’re crazy about fun.  Then he remarked about how we went to a lot more parties in Wisconsin.  I reminded him that that was over thirty years ago!

 

“How many 81 and 66 year-old people do you know who are heading out to a Halloween Party on a Saturday night?” I asked.  Age is only a number.  I hope we continue to have fun through a lot more numbers.  Thanks Liz & Josh for the great time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

