Costumes

Friday, October 28, 2016

Today I am grateful for costumes.  I love Halloween, but don’t like gore.  I love movies but hate horror movies.  I love dressing up in costumes, but I don’t always wait for Halloween to do it.

 

When our three boys were younger, we vacationed at a wonderful resort near Swanton, Vermont, called The Tyler Place.  Google it.  It ain’t cheap, but they were the best vacations we’ve ever taken.  Totally relaxing and the kids go with groups their age with college student leaders.  Think Dirty Dancing only better.

 

The Tyler Place was big on themes.  They had at least four different themes per week and you usually didn’t know what  they’d be until you got there.  No bringing stuff from home to help with costumes.

 

You didn’t have to “dress” for square dancing, but it was more fun if you did.  Especially if you suck at square dancing.  Sometimes they picked a decade and you could be anything or anyone you wanted from the decade.  Some people wrote the name of someone on an old T-shirt.  Boring!  The fun people played well.  I remember a skinny guy with a beard sitting in a chair with a guitar, while his wife, with long braids, stood behind him and dropped her braids over his shoulders as he sang a Willie Nelson song.  Brilliant!

 

We’re not boring, either.  While Himself was fishing and the kids were off with their groups, I went to “town” and hit the garage sales looking for inspiration for the 70’s theme.  What you can’t see on the back of the shirt is:  Sonny & Cher before cosmetic surgery!  I look more like I’m channeling Mama Cass, but Himself makes a pretty good Sonny.  I just love costumes. . .whenever.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Costumes

  1. Marge Bowman says:

    I got you, babe. Cute idea. Love his hair.

    Sent from my iPad. Now go and make it a good day”

    >

Leave a Reply

