“Annie Crow Knoll: Moonrise” by Gail Priest

Book screen

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Today I am grateful for the book, “Annie Crow Knoll: Moonrise” by Gail Priest.  By now you are probably wondering if I am doing anything else in my life but reading and reviewing great books.  Not much.  I love books.   And I loved this book.

 

Gail Priest asked me to read this third in a series before it came out in early August. After some glitches with technology (on my part) she finally had to send the final draft to me in a word program.  Talk about trust!  I’m a slow reader and couldn’t drag my computer everywhere like I do a printed book, so that opening has passed, but there is something very special about that kind of confidence.  What if I didn’t like it?  Hah!  No problem there.  I loved it.

 

“. . .Moonrise” starts with a bang, dragging you in immediately.  I never once felt that I was at a disadvantage in the story line or characters because it was the third of a series and I had not read the other two.  Never once.  This book stands on its own and now I want to read the others.

 

The timing was perfect to read this book because the two main characters, Jemma and Breezy, are Olympic hopefuls in bike racing.  When Himself was watching the Olympics I informed him why one rider takes the lead as the domestique so that the other can rest, then ultimately pass with a burst of energy. I didn’t know his eyebrows could raise that high.  I love learning something new.

 

But it isn’t only about that.  It’s about tragedy, generations, love, fear, different races, families, pain, acceptance, new beginnings, kindness and traditions.  One of my favorite sections of “.  . .Moonrise” was the relationships between those of a “certain age” in the story line.  Young people think love, real, true, enduring love is only for them.  It’s not and this book proves that in the most beautiful way.

 

My family is non-traditional.  We have those of mixed race, step kids, step grandkids, birth kids, ex-spouses, ex-in-laws, you name it all jumbled up.  Somehow we make it work.  Just like this family does through adoption, divorce, remarriage and alternate living arrangements.  Each character has their own distinctive voice and that is no easy task in any novel.  I seriously don’t know how novelists can keep track of them all, but I bet it’s fun being in their heads while they’re writing.

 

When I finished this book, I felt like I had been on a vacation to a great spot on the Chesapeake Bay.  Now I want to visit the forge, where Atticus makes his metal sculptures.  I want to see the new pagoda all lit up.  I want to sit on the porch and feel the breeze coming off the bay.  I want to see the light catch the colored glass when Three P empties his jars into the water.  I want to smell Nate’s cooking wafting out of Moon Harbor Inn.  I want to remember lines like, “Sadness was trapped in Annie’s rib cage again.”  Wow!  That’s powerful stuff!

 

And I want to be a guest in one of the cabins. . .Oh wait.  I was! Gail Priest saw to it when she asked me to read “Annie Crow Knoll: Moonrise”.  I feel so satisfied, so rested.   Am I tan?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

