Kind Woman @ Ross

pinklambchop

Monday, August 15, 2016

Today I am grateful for a kind woman at Ross.  Yes, I went back today for the Lamb-chop poncho.  I just couldn’t take the pressure from so many of you telling me I was an idiot for not getting it, so I convinced Himself we needed to go to Ross in the course of our errands.  Imagine how thrilled he was.

 

I march into Ross and go straight to the rack where the pink baby had been hanging the last two times I was there.  GONE!  I searched the entire rack, but as you can imagine it was pretty easy to spot this fuzz-ball. . .from a mile away.  But it wasn’t there.

 

I searched the nearby racks because sometimes people plop things back where they don’t really belong.  Not that I would EVER do that, but some people do.  (ha-ha) Gone!  Nowhere to be found.  And so is Himself.

 

So I lumber around the store looking for him and happen past the fitting rooms.  There in a cart crumpled like deflated pink balloon in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, lay the pinky-poncho thingy.  With nothing else in the cart.

 

“Excuse me,” I asked the fitting room attendant.  “Does this cart belong to someone?”  She assured me it did.  So I waited.  A woman came out, but didn’t go near the cart.  I wasn’t convinced there even was a woman connected to the cart so I went to see if anyone was still in the fitting room.  Two doors were closed.  Not bad.  I can wait/stalk for ten minutes or so.  It’s only two people.

 

Himself wanders past and I fill him in.  I confess that I thought of just snatching it out of that woman’s cart and running to the checkout and through the doors before anyone would notice.  But I couldn’t do it.  Kidnapping is not how I roll.  Even with fake fur.  Too much bad Karma.  Besides, I was dying to know who was buying it.

 

I hovered around home goods, then bras, then shoes, then pet supplies.  Finally, a woman walked out of the fitting room, handed all of her try-ons to the clerk and headed for the cart where Pinky slept.  I intercepted her.  Gently.  Sort of.

 

“Excuse me, ma-am,” I said, obviously excited.  “I see you’re buying this pink lamb thingy and I was wondering how invested you are in it?”

 

“Not at all.” She said.  “I was just about to hang it back on the rack.  Do you want it?”

 

Do I want it?  I not only want it I’m now obsessed with it.  Do I want it?  Yes I want it!  I have wanted it from the second I saw it.  Everyone I know wants it, too, now!

 

“Well, if you’re sure you don’t want it, I would buy it.” I said, trying not to sound too needy. . .or crazy.

 

“It’s yours!” she said, handing it to me.

 

Me yammering about I had tried it on and looked stupid and hilarious and how I write a blog and everyone said I needed to go back for it and she should check out my blog and blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.  Or baa, baa, baa, baa, baa.  I sounded like a sheep bleating for treats.

 

I apologized for stalking her and told her to look for the stories on Facebook.  I hope she does.  She was very, very kind.  As she walked away she laughed and said “I will do that.”  She didn’t dial 911 on the crazy-woman-stalker!  That’s how friendships are started!  Mine anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kind Woman @ Ross

  1. Marge Bowman says:

    Is this a cover up after swimming? Or a Halloween costume? Or a dress up for Easter bonnet at the pool? The suspense is killing me!!!!!

    Sent from my iPad. Now go and make it a good day”

    >

Leave a Reply

