Colored Pens

a checkbook nightmare lady

Monday, July 25, 2016

Today I am grateful for colored pens.  Why?  Because it took four different colors to back-check the problems I had created in our checkbook!  Four!

 

Also four (4) hours.  Also at least four power outages, which is not that big of a deal if I’m writing because I have a laptop, but I needed to be on line to double check the account against the paper record.  Then the power went out.  Again and again and again and again.  And each time I had to start over and re-boot.  Sometimes not even getting close before it popped out again.

 

I don’t know what my problem is, but I’m starting to get concerned.  For the last three months I have made some seriously stupid mistakes regarding paying bills and reconciling the checkbook.  I’m beginning to wonder if it has something to do with the surgery I had.  Anesthetic?  I hope so, because then I know it will get better.

I had to call Himself in to help again today.  It’s just too hard to keep my place, looking from computer screen to check register.  What a nightmare.  When we finally found the huge and very stupid mistake. . .in my handwriting (rats). . .I melted down, blubbering in complete hysterics!

 

“What is WRONG with me?”  I blurbled.  “I usually sit down and reconcile the checkbook in ten minutes with it sometimes being off only by pennies!”  Still blubberbleing.  “These last three months I’ve made mistakes (sob-snorting-here) every time I pay bills and more!”  She’s lost it, folks.  Maybe I just needed a good bawl in light of the political bantering.  I don’t know, but I wasn’t done.  “I must have the Alzheimers!  What if I have the Alzheimers?”  I was such a mess, poor Himself didn’t know if I was laughing or bawling.  Both.  I know how ridiculous I sounded.

 

Our checkbook ledger looks like an adult coloring book.  Done by a two-year-old.  Very pretty and colorful.  We went back as far as the bank would let us and still aren’t sure why it was still a little off, even after we found two mistakes.  Grrrrrrr.  But I just couldn’t fret over it anymore.  Just couldn’t!  The book doesn’t match the bank on-line, so we went with on-line.  Slash!  Big green mark stating that was the end of the debacle.

 

Even a half an hour later I still wasn’t done melting down, so Himself says, “Boy, you are really coming unglued, today.”  And he laughed.  I did, too.  I think.  I can’t be sure because I was bawling too hard.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

