Back In The Pool

A happy person in pool

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Today I am grateful that I am back in the pool!  Whoopee!  Yippee-Kai-Ohhh!  Whoot!  Whoot!  Whoot!  I was nine weeks out of the water and it was at least eight weeks too many!  Can you tell I missed it?

 

My first dip was on Tuesday when I went to the water walking class. . .just to test the waters, so to speak.  It went great.  I swear if I had dropped dead on the spot it would have taken the undertakers a week to get the smile off my face.  I think I’m part fish.

 

Then, because it went so well on Tuesday, today I went to a water aerobics class, then taught two classes of kids afterwards.  Two hours in the pool.  I’m exhausted.  The first class of kids was the HUGS day care.  “Did you miss me?” I asked still wearing the smile.  They had seen me around the building on land, but now I was in the water.  “yeah. . .um. . .oh. . .Miss Mary. . .oh look. . .um. . .Miss Mary. . .oh no. . .”

 

Then the titters and tears started.  “I want my momma!”  You’re momma isn’t here.  You have me.  “I want my daddy.”  Nope, just me.  “I want to be with Miss Lauren.”  Some of them started doing a shuffle to get over to where Lauren was and I had to laugh.  Big Bad Mean Miss Mary was back in town and she’s not going to let us get away with anything!  I make them work pretty hard.  They are in the pool to learn to swim.  Swimming is not a luxury, it’s a necessity, like the alphabet and math.   I don’t have to teach them how to goof off and spit water in each other’s faces. . .or mine because they already know that!  I have to teach them to swim.

 

There were twelve kids, so each of the teachers got four.  One of mine was the kid I wrote about a couple of times who looks like a Cabbage Patch Doll and who, in the beginning, refused to move any body parts to stay afloat, then wound up getting in trouble for being too rough when I was last there.  He’s a hoot.  And a challenge.

 

He started acting up and the lifeguard was this close to yanking him from the pool.  I tapped him on the shoulder.  “Remember me?”  He nodded with just the right amount of healthy terror.  “You know that none of that stuff works with me, right?”  He nodded.

“Okay, then show me how you swim!” I said, unclutching him from the wall.

 

He started to issue excuses, so I had to give him the “look”.  You know the one.  All mothers get it the second that baby pops out.  It’s classic!  It’s universal!  Its affective! It is wonderful to be back in the pool. . .for me anyway.  For some of the kids. . .??????. . .maybe not so much. . .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

