Mom Still With Us

a greatgrandma with beer.

Sunday, May 8, 2016

Today I am grateful that my mom is still with us.  She is 89 and has pretty much lost her vision, her hearing and her energy.  But not her sense-of-humor and her spirit is still feisty. Plus there is not one thing different about her cantankerous attitude.  It’s her best and worst characteristic!

 

That said. . .I hate Mother’s Day.  It seems like a good thing until I get to thinking, which I can’t help but do, because every show on TV has crap going on for Mother’s Day.  It’s all great if your mom is alive.  It’s all great if you have kids who adore you.  It’s all great if everything is perfect.  But if it isn’t. . .if you want a baby, but it isn’t happening. . .or if your mom died way too young. . .or if you can’t get along and haven’t spoken in years. . .or if you are separated from your own kids for similar reasons, or just vast miles. . .or if, God forbid, you have lost a child, the ultimate terror of all parents. . .or if you gave your child up for adoption, even though it was the right choice. . .

 

I could go on and on.  You know I could.  But when the accolades for mom’s come out, even though I have my mom. . .and I am a very lucky mom. . .I can’t help but think about all of those women out there who must want to dig a hole and crawl inside until Hallmark and FTD are done telling us what a great day it is.

 

So while I am grateful to still have my mom, I am thinking about those of you with your heads buried in your pillows, waiting for it to be over.  You know who you are.  Today I celebrate YOU!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mom Still With Us

  1. Jacki Hunsberger says:

    Thanks, Mary

Leave a Reply

