Haircuts

John & Matt, cropped-best

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Today I am grateful for haircuts.  What is it about medical issues that makes you notice every overgrown hair follicle?  I didn’t wait longer than usual to get a haircut, but boy do I feel great since I did.  Maybe it’s because of all of the slug-like laying around, but I was beginning to feel like a basset hound, with the same hang-dog-droopy look that implies.  Now I’m perky again.

 

Not only did I get a haircut since the surgery, but yesterday, I honest-to-God felt well enough to cut the hair of Himself and Son-of-Himself, who is visiting us from Wisconsin!  I took a little break in between, but it still felt good to do something useful.

 

Himself doesn’t like getting haircuts.  He pitches an immediate attitude every single time and has ever since I’ve been cutting his hair, which is about 37 years at this point… except for a few years in Jakarta, Indonesia, where I refused because he never wanted to do it when I wanted to and it was a billion degrees and I don’t do my best work in a sauna. . .so I jobbed him out.

 

It has been years since I’ve cut our son, Matt Mooney’s hair. (Remember we have a Matt Braun, too. Try to keep up.)  He has great hair, with just enough wave and when I started cutting it I remembered how well it lays.  What I didn’t realize is that he is truly his father’s son.

 

He plopped into the chair with a huff and a grunt.  “What’s wrong?” I asked.  “Nothing!  I just hate getting haircuts.”  Swell.  Anyway, the haircuts were easy compared to getting them to stand close enough to take a picture of them.  Geeze!  Do you know each other?  Disclaimer:  They both had hats on. . .which I made them take off. . .so hat-head is involved.  I swear.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

