Container Houses

a container house

Monday, March 21, 2016

Today I am grateful for container houses.  Yes, there is such a thing.  Houses built out of the same kind of shipping container that brought my belongings back to the good ol’ USA when we left Indonesia.  Or like the ones you saw on the Maersk ship in the movie “Captain Phillips”.

 

We watched a show on HG-TV where one family in Wisconsin had an entire two story house with a rooftop deck built out of containers.  Another woman lived with her parents but wanted a studio for her work so she had a container with a deck put in their back yard.  Both were awesome.  The house cost around $250,000 and was well over 3,000 sq. ft.  the studio was $18,000 with the deck.  Wow!

 

These little gems are configured by your own design at a factory in Oshkosh, Wisconsin.  Now that’s a place I’d like to tour sometime when I visit my home state.  Doors and windows are cut, wiring is installed, plumbing is readied. . .all in the factory.  The basement (for the house) or slab (for the studio) is poured and made ready for delivery.

 

In the case of the house, truck after truck brought piece after piece.  Then they went to work joining everything together and finishing it with insulation, hardwood floors, wallboard walls and a granite kitchen.  Wowsa!  It was gorgeous.  The studio, on a much smaller scale, was equally gorgeous.

 

This innovative design for housing got me thinking about areas in our country, or even the world, where homes are destroyed because of natural disasters.  I’m sure someone has thought to use these structures, but it’s all new to me.  I just know they give the term “tent city” a whole new meaning.

 

When I searched for a picture, I found entire apartment buildings made out of them.  Who knew?  Certainly not me.  But now that I do. . . I’m intrigued with container houses and want to see more.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

