Great Baby Shower

Thursday, March 3, 2016

Today I am grateful for a great baby shower.  When your children are married you rarely get to spend time with their in-law family and friends.  You meet these great, fun people around the time of the bridal shower and wedding and then BAM, it’s over and they fold back into their lives and you fold into yours.

 

Enter the expected baby.  My daughter-in-law’s sister and sister-of-choice hosted a fantastic baby shower for her and my son at Nadia Thai restaurant in Willow Grove, PA.  The location was perfect with just the right mix of casual elegance.  I’m sorry to say I didn’t remember all of the names, but I remembered the faces.  They graciously asked me who I would like to include in the event so there was a wonderful mix of people I knew well and not so well and some in between.

 

A woman I did not remember meeting before said, “You’re Matt’s mom?”  Then she waxed poetic over the kindness, charm and even hotness of my son, ending with, “Boy, you really raised him well!”  What mom doesn’t want to hear that, even if it takes over 40 years to hear it?

 

Some of my friends got to know Susan better and said, “Oh my.  She is very special!”  What mother-in-law doesn’t like to hear that about the woman her son has chosen?

 

It was a blast.  Lots of wine, great food, good conversation and tons of baby loot.  A perfect event.  Thanks Sarah and Sandra!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

