Different Greens

a bitters lettuce bowl

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Today I am grateful for different greens.  I’m not getting a jump start on St. Paddy’s Day, I was just getting sick of the kinds of lettuce I was eating so I changed it up.

 

Himself rarely eats anything green. . .including green beer, which to a true Irishman is a sacrilege. . .but he will chip away at a miniscule sized wedge of head lettuce.  No calories, no flavor, no nutrition. . .his favorite kind of food, so I’d buy one every so often, then get stuck finishing it myself because after one small sliver, he is done with it.  Yuk.

 

I got it in my head that I should buy romaine lettuce and maybe he wouldn’t know the difference if I gave him the part closest to the root.  Fugetaboutit.  Then I thought if I put a ton of it on a sliced chicken sandwich on a flat round, maybe the chicken would not be so, um. . .chickeney.  I got sick of both and what’s left of the three head package is just annoying me in the fridge, so I had no right buying more.  None at all.

 

But at Costco the other day I saw the mixed green mega-bucket of “bitters” and I swear my mouth watered.  So I bought it.  And I’m loving it!  Sometimes you just have to switch up the green to make it a good day.  It doesn’t take much to make me happy.

 

I meant to take a picture of my salad tonight, but I inhaled it before I could grab the camera.  Maybe next week I’ll play with another color of food!  Who knows?  Yellow tomatoes.  White beets.  Where will it end?  Not on the plate of Himself, that’s for sure!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Different Greens

  1. Marge Bowman says:

    How about different color carrots? Organic of course.

Leave a Reply

