Snow Removers

Sunday, January 24, 2016

Today I am grateful for snow removers.  All kinds.  Big diggers.  Big men.  Little men.  Snow shovels.  Snow blowers.  Brooms.  Dust pans.  Magic fairy sprinkles.  Anything that clears a path.

 

I was up at 4:30 this morning, ready to sit in the recliner and read my book in the still of a snow covered morning.  I had not even settled in before I noticed the blinking lights of the snow removal minions, Hi-Ho-ing all over the frozen tundra like the Seven Dwarfs to my warm-in-the-house Snow White.

 

It must be the “Willie” gene (my dad) because I could not tear my eyes off the process. . .staring out the window and marveling at their every move.  Each new digger, front end loader, plow, made me palpitate with excitement.  I wanna drive one of those big diggers so badly I can taste it!  Bucket list!!!  I love the big yellow scoop that says, “Avalanche” in huge white letters across the face.  Vroom-Vroom!

 

I watched that guy shift and adjust and maneuver that behemoth, turning it on a dime, popping wheelies, spinning out on the ice, until I was exhausted!  From 5a.m. to 1:30 p.m!  Oh, I read the book.  A little.  And I took pictures.  A lot.  And I baked brownies and put the coffee outside for the crew.  But mostly I watched the snow removers do an amazing job.  With the big-digger of my dreams.

 

Willie-Dad would be proud. . .except he would have been out there directing them personally. . . “Keep ‘er coming!  Yer good!  You got ‘er!”. . .not taking sissy-ass pictures  from a window.  Vroom-Vroom!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snow Removers

  1. Jacki Hunsberger says:

    You’re a kind soul! I bet those guys appreciated those treats. We spent the day shovelling…taking turns as we only one. That’s good since it forces breaks!

Leave a Reply

