Great Story Telling

a danish girl poster

Wednesday, January 06, 2016

Today I am grateful for great story telling.  It’s no secret that we went to see Star Wars yesterday and I was less than thrilled.  The good news is that we cheated and padded over to another movie that I wanted to see.

 

Okay, we double dipped.  This is a skill we learned from the late, great Wally, the father of my daughter-in-law.  Tell me we’re the first people to ever do this.  They’re gonna run the movie anyway.  We already paid for one movie.  What difference does it make if two more people are in the seats?   The only problem is himself can’t use the closed captioning gizmo because to go and ask them re-program it for the movie you are sneaking in to see is just tacky.

 

We didn’t just see “The Danish Girl”.  We experienced it.  What a movie.  The subject matter (transgender surgery) is something that I have not been able to wrap my brain around.  Until now.  Now I get it.

 

Ever since I studied filmmaking for a couple of months in New York, back in the day, I look at each film differently.  I see where the camera must have been, how the lighting was arranged and even the sound and ambient sounds.  I see it all.

 

Since I’ve also done a little film acting, I appreciate what the actors go through, too.  It’s so much different from stage acting. . .much more subtle. . .understated. . .smaller than life, not larger, or you would assault the audience on the jumbo screen.  And it’s out of sequence.  The last scene you see in a movie might have been shot first for various reasons.  Research what Tom Hanks went through in “The Castaway” for a great example of this.

 

The fact that Eddie Redmayne probably shot some of the later scenes for “The Danish Girl”, without having the benefit of working into the moments, is just incredible to me.  What a fine, fine actor.  Every one of them was outstanding.

 

Look, I get it.  A movie of this type, considered an “art film”, might not be for everyone.  Indeed I was glad I had not read the review before I saw it because I blatantly disagree with the New York Times critic.

 

The filmmaker and actor in me appreciates those skills.  But the writer in me. . .oh my. . .what a screenplay!  Completely visual.  I swear I could have watched it stone deaf and yet barely missed a thing.  My husband did. . .and I only had to clear up one or two points.  And by the way he loved it, too. . .and we talked about it all the way home.  Anything that keeps us talking has got to be good.

 

No matter how you feel about the genre. . .there is simply nothing better than great story telling!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

