I Should No Longer Say

A cartoon on forgetting

Sunday, January 3, 2016

Today I am grateful for things I should no longer say.  I remember back in the day, when my kids were young and we were going someplace and needed to remember to bring certain things along.  They would say, “Better write it down, mom.”  But I’d say, “I don’t have to write it down.”  I have a list.  In my head.

 

Now I don’t have much in my head. . .or maybe too much. . .because unless I have a written list I’m lost.  Actually I have to write down every single thing.  I have to list everything I’m serving when I host an event.  Otherwise I will wind up with three pounds of chicken salad and four dozen cookies, neither of which I need.

 

I have note paper everywhere.  Sometimes I have a grocery list started in four different places before I gather them up for the master list.  It’s complicated.  It’s crazy.  It’s necessary.

 

Not only do I walk into a room and not have one clue why I’m there or what I came in there for. . . I get distracted. . . “oh look how pretty the light is bouncing off the lampshade”. . .what?  Oh yeah.  I forget what I came in the room for.  Or that I have a room.  Then two days later, as I’m falling asleep, I remember just enough to keep me awake.

We’re getting ready for another road trip to Wisconsin for the wedding of my niece.  It’s cold.  Himself will need to visit every rest stop.  Another thing I used to say is, “I’m good.  I don’t need to go.”  Not anymore.  These days I never pass a bathroom with taking advantage of the opportunity.

 

When I first thought about writing on this subject I had a bunch of things that I should no longer say, like, “I don’t have to write it down.”  Or “No, I don’t need to pee.”  But I forgot them already.  I shoulda made a list!  Butter. . . milk. . . yogurt. . .oh wait.  What?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Should No Longer Say

  1. Marge Bowman says:

    Long underwear, sweaters (lots of them), toothbrush, map, snacks, TP (just in case), coloring books and pens and pencils, patience. Have fun packing.

Leave a Reply

