Let the Baking Begin

pumpkin pie and upside down

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Today I am grateful to let the baking begin.  My contribution to Thanksgiving Dinner at our daughter, Beth’s house is the pies.  I wish I could have gotten away with just pumpkin because that’s so easy.

 

But no, himself has to have apple and then there has to be one for breakfast and it seems only right to make my sister one, too, so there will be three apples, a pumpkin and the most yummy upside down pumpkin cake I’ve ever tasted.  Two apples are in the oven, one is in the bull-pen waiting to go in when they come out and the others are already done and pictured.

 

What a lot of work. . .especially when you are not in your own kitchen and want to be the least pain-in-the-ass possible.  It’s like a scavenger hunt for doo-dads and gizmo’s; sharp knives and my sanity.

 

Then there is the oven.  My sister has a fantastic, new, stainless steel, restaurant-quality oven with enough buttons and lights to land a 747 jumbo jet at O’Hare.  I stared at the thing for 10 minutes before I could even figure out how to get the oven on.  Then it turns out I hit “convection oven” whatever the hell that is.  When I set the timer, I turned my back and moved on to other things.  Except I had turned the oven OFF.  For a half an hour before I noticed it.  Geeze.  The curses were heard throughout the house so my sister came a runnin’ and gave me a crash course in the peccadillo’s of the beast.  We’re good now.  As long as I can keep the two cats from landing in something.

 

If you want to wow them all this thanksgiving. . .instead of making pumpkin pie, make this little gem I got on line a few years ago from Allrecipes.com.  Yes it made the YUM cookbook.  Let the baking begin! Just be sure you know how to drive your oven before you start.

Upside Down Pumpkin Cake

(best ever)

1 (29 oz) can pumpkin puree (30oz is 2 small cans so I use 30)

2 tsp ground cinnamon

½ tsp ground cloves

Salt to taste

1 ¾ C sugar

3 eggs

1 (12 oz) can evaporated milk

Preheat oven to 350

Mix everything together and pour into a 9X13 baking pan.

1 box yellow cake mix (with pudding, except I can’t find it so I use extra moist)

Sprinkle on the pumpkin mixture which is in the pan

1 C chopped pecans (or more) –  I use a cup more usually)

Sprinkle on top of the cake mix and pumpkin stuff.

1 cup of melted butter poured over everything. (I told you it was good!)

Bake 350 for 60 minutes.  Let cool.  It will seem a little “liquidy” but will solidify as it cools.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let the Baking Begin

  1. Marge Bowman says:

    Sounds like you are having fun. I will keep this recipe. It sounds great for a covered dish. See you next week on whenever. Happy Thanksgiving. M

    Sent from my iPad. Now go and make it a good day”

    >

  2. Sue says:

    This upside down pumpkin cake sounds so good. I may have to run out and get the ingredients to make. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

