Old Friends

the fan club
Sunday, November 15, 2015
Today I am grateful for old friends. . .and when I say old, I mean old. . .though not so much in age, but in history.

I let it be known when I would be in Sheboygan and a ball of fun started rolling like a meteor. People were informed, plans were made and a bunch of classmates from the Class of ’68, South High, got together last night. What a blast!

Some have not seen each other in more years than any of us can remember. One walked in and said, “I don’t know who you are!” We laughed and hints were given, then names, then I finally said, “It’s Squeaky!” OHHHHH! Then she knew her. The 50 year old nickname was the key.

I got there first because I didn’t want to miss anything, ordered a club soda to pace myself and sat at a table in the bar. The bartender came over and asked me if I wanted to order anything. I told him I was waiting for a few people and we were having dinner later. “Well you let me know if you need anything.” Out of my mouth, also from 50 years ago, came, “You betcha I will!”

Laughing, loud women started entering and we sent the bartender hopping. You betcha! There were rolled eyes and new information gathered through past stories. We talked about vacations and husbands and lost spouses and health and just plain foolishness. We shared stories from the past and dreams for the future. Fifty years slipped away much faster and easier than fifty-pounds does, that’s for sure!

I had a blast. An absolute blast! And I think everyone else did, too, which makes me happier than me having fun. I am so grateful for old friends. . .even though were still all so damned good lookin’. . .and getting younger every day! Yes ladies! You made the blog!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Old Friends

  1. Marge Bowman says:

    I always enjoy getting together with my former classmates, also. It’s amazing how 40+ years takes away the catyness and brings in the fond memories of all the high minks of youth in addition of bringing up-to-date info of families and health. I hope you get together again before you head back to PA.

Leave a Reply

