Sheboygan, Wisconsin

a north lighthouse shot in sheboygan
Friday, November 13, 2015
Today I am grateful to be in my hometown, Sheboygan, Wisconsin. I wish I had a buck for every time I walked out on the North Pier, or the South Pier, or the jetties. Ah, yes, the jetties. . .

When I was young I’d go perch fishing with my dad, but that was only if we didn’t catch anything on the South Pier. We’d fish for a while, walking past the guys who were there every day with their systems of bells on boards and poles through holes, waiting for the jingle-jingle of a bite. “That nord pier is so damnt far away. But if they ain’t hittin’ here, maybe they’re hittin’ there,” my dad would say. We’d take apart the bamboo cane poles, being careful to tuck the hook into the end so it didn’t run through our finger, cuz he didn’t have time to take us to no emergency room just cuz we were too stupid to know better! Also his words.

As a teenager I got into no end of mischief on that pier. I wish I had a buck for every event. . .and every boy. . .I walked out there with. Ah, yes. Now there’s a memory. . .or not. . .because it’s not that there were so many boys, it’s just I’ve lost enough memory to not have a clue who they all were.

We are hitting the ground running tonight by going out for a fish lunch with friends, then tomorrow we are booked from morning to night. I’m hoping to post but if you don’t hear from me for the next couple of days it doesn’t mean I’m dead. Just partying hearty in the land of bratwurst and brandy old fashioneds! Prost!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

