Great Statements

bingo woman
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Today I am grateful for great statements. When your mom is 89 and lives 900 miles away you just never know what you’re going to get when you call her. Is she going to be good mom? Is she going to be well or complaining about “wilting”? Is she going to bitch about the government or the way they run her apartment complex? Is she going to be whiney? Is she going to be able to find the remote to turn the TV down from deafening?

I called her yesterday to keep her in the loop about our goings on and to remind her again of our trip to see her soon. I got slightly exasperated mom. Oh, that’s right, I should have known better. . .it was Wednesday. At 12:30 my time, 11:30 hers. Here’s how it went. . .

Me: Hey mom, it’s me.
Her: Hello?! Hello!
Me: Yeah, mom, it’s me, Mary.
Her: Oh hi! Let me turn this damned TV down! (she does) What’s on your mind today?
Me: Not much. . .just wanted to let you know when we’re leaving and stuff. I won’t keep you long.
Her: Good! I have noodles cooking and then I gotta get to BINGO.

I need to be careful not to call during Judge Judy and Mr. Ed. Wednesday afternoons are Bingo, Thursday she’s shopping with my sister, Friday morning is her hair appointment. This is the stuff that makes up her life, which gets increasingly smaller with every year.

But her line “I have noodles cooking and then I gotta get to BINGO.” is my favorite. It’s a great statement for today! Love it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

