Chicken Soup

chicken soup cartoon
Monday, October 05, 2015
Today I am grateful for chicken soup. Since my post yesterday, where I confessed my lovely husband “shared” his cold, I’ve had a lot of friends remind me to have chicken soup. One even offered to bring it, which I politely declined.

You see, part of the healing qualities of soup, for me, is the smell as it simmers away on the stove. Himself is now all better and went off to the Y this morning, leaving me with my requested honey, cinnamon and tea in a thermos. It seems nothing but hot attacks the itch in my inner ears and throat. That or my little round hairbrush, but I’ve yet to figure out how to make that happen without gagging and coughing up a hairball.

He offered to stop at the store for me on his way home, but my brain cells were not yet functioning. . . now I have a list. Chicken. . .for soup is at the top. Most of the veggies are already chopped and in the pot along with copious amounts of garlic, red chili peppers, and a generous dump of cayenne pepper.

I still have to snatch a few of my dwindling herbs. . .and get the chicken in the pot. Then I’ll be all set! Chicken soup for my nasty cold, itchy throat. . .and soul! I am my own book!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken Soup

  1. Sue says:

    Sorry you are under the weather. We missed you at class at the Y. All seems to be ok there. Love the chicken soup but yours sounds a little too spicy for me. Give me good old fashioned Campbell’s Chicken Noodle.

Leave a Reply

