Ungodly Hour

waving arm man
Tuesday, September 01, 2015
Today I am grateful for ungodly hours. The pump is broken at the Y pool so I had to figure out another form of exercise. One of my evil fitness instructor friends suggested I come to her 8:15 walking class. Or, as I like to call it. . .walking forwards, backwards, sideways, arm waving, punching, kicking, heels, toes, step-boxes, stretching. . .torture.

Today is the first day of school. When I worked as a building secretary, I set the alarm for 6 a.m. every day. Usually I woke up just before the alarm and waited for it to go off. I had to be there at 8:20. Every day. Now I have trouble hauling my lazy butt out early. . .even for just one morning. How quickly I went from a “working mindset” to “retirement mindset”. I like the latter better.

I planned to take a walk today at some point anyway, but would have had to go to the park early because it’s 94 degrees out, with the air quality of a neglected cat litter dish. So what’s the big deal about hauling out of bed at 7:15? Nothing. Up isn’t that difficult. You don’t have to be civilized or even human to be up. Up and out is another story.

I met my greatest aerobic challenge of the day by getting into my car. . .at an ungodly hour. . . and driving to class! I got human by the time the class was over. You do know I’m retired, right? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ungodly Hour

  1. Marge Bowman says:

    It was wonderful to see you there this am. It wasn’t that bad. You didn’t fall down at any time. The pool is now reopened and it will be freezing. Personally, I’d rather go to the eye doctor and get all measured up for my cataract surgery. See you Thursday for walking or waving at you through the glass while you are still freezing in the water. 😂😂😂😂😂

Leave a Reply

