Novelist Greg Iles

Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Today I am grateful for novelist Greg Iles. And I hate him! Because I love him! And I just finished his book, “Natchez Burning” two weeks ago, then waited for my son to finish the second in a trilogy, “The Bone Tree” so I could borrow it and keep going. But I had things to do, so I didn’t start it because I know what happens when I start a Greg Iles book. Because I love him. And I hate him.

All I want to do is sit and read when I should be doing other things, but the dishes can wait and the dusting doesn’t matter and I can eat left overs, because nothing on earth seems as important as the next chapter. So I hate him. And so will you, because that’s it for today. Don’t blame me for the short missive, blame him. And maybe at some point I might think about what I learned about the structure of a novel, but probably not. Because when it’s good I don’t care how hard it was for the author to create it. ! Today I’m reading, not writing.

But I hope he’s writing like a lunatic because when I finish this rotten book, I’m going to expect another. Soon! Get on that, Greg! Because I hate you. And I love you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

