Smiley Faces

bumble bee girl at Spruce st
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Today I am grateful for smiley faces. I know a lot of people don’t like to smile, but I sure like it when they do. For me their entire personality lights up and oozes forth when they smile. Everyone. It doesn’t matter how young or how old. A smile always works for me. Even if it’s on someone’s swimming suit.

I was sitting in the shade, at the Spruce Street Park in Philly, waiting for my husband and friend to finish touring a ship and settled myself near the wading pond. Someone had to lifeguard! I eagle-eyed every kid who went near the water, doing a head count a billion times. It must be a hold-over from teaching kids to swim. I am vigilant even when their parents aren’t. Yes, I was prepared to jump in and yank someone out. Then there was that special moment.

A toddler, in a yellow bumble-bee bathing suit, with a smiley bee face on the top, made my day. To watch her tentatively waddle towards the wading pond, little pudgy toes curled like they could fit on a tree limb, watching the changing light and movement of each puddle, brought me great joy. It was clear it was her first time ever, walking into water almost under her own steam, albeit with a pretty tight grasp of daddy’s hand.

Watching anyone having a new experience is wonderful. Add chubby legs, dimples and a smiley face and. . .BING! Heartprint!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

