String Bands

Sax mummer cropped.=best-jpg
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Today I am grateful for string bands. . .even if they are only comprised of three people! There was a promotional event at the Y yesterday and it included three members of a string band. What fun.

These guys were great. I could have listened to the sax for two more hours. I haven’t heard an accordion since I went to a Polish bridal shower years ago. And the banjo is an instrument my husband spent at least two weeks trying to master before he gave it up. But for me, it’s all about the alto sax.

My mom always says “The saxophone is a sexy instrument!” I didn’t ask where she got this from because you have to be careful when asking questions of moms. They might tell you and then you have to live with it. But now I agree.

I just love the sax. . .and this guy was good. . .far from young. . .but still really good. When I told him so after the event was over, he said, “Thank you, but did you hear the squeaks?” I sort of shrugged, because I had, but didn’t want to hurt his feelings. “We were on a flatbed truck in a Memorial Day Parade. It stopped short and pitched us all to the ground. My sax took a little beating. I’ll have to get her checked.” Seriously? You gotta love a musician who is more concerned about his instrument than his own bruises.

While watching and listening to them I found a curious red button on my camera. Who knew I could take video? It desperately needs editing, so if I can figure out how, I might post it, too. If you’ve never seen, or heard a mummer, then Google them, immediately. Talk about Philadelphia traditions!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to String Bands

  1. MARIE A. BISHOP says:

    I clicked on your blog but only got the “regular page” = unfortunately NO OUTSTANDING VIDEO
    sadness (sad face to be inserted)….see ya tomorrow (breakfast after aerobics at P. B.)……take care, mab

Leave a Reply

