Peace

Peace sign with children and globe
Monday, May 25, 2015
Today I am grateful for peace. While, on this Memorial Day, I very much appreciate the sacrifices made by service people and their families, I’d much prefer peace. I would like to make their sacrifice unnecessary. Redundant. Obsolete. A large request? I know. You can go ahead and rebut me with your internal or external voice as much as you like, but it’s what I want.

I’d like to live in a world where different factions are not squabbling over every single thing imaginable. I want religious acceptance, border acceptance and peaceful coexistence. I want genocide, starvation, poverty, lack of water and other forms of distress to end now. I want my grandchildren to one day ask, “What was the deal with all of those wars?” because they have never experienced war in their lifetime.

I don’t know how we will achieve World Peace. It seems like an insurmountable task. But I think we have to keep trying. If not globally, then in our own back yards. We each need to stop insisting all people believe exactly as we do. We need to not only accept our differences, but celebrate them. We need to stop judging. We need to find the peace within ourselves and that will encourage us to be nice to each other.

Will we be able to create a perfect, peaceful world? Probably not. Just a better one. Peace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

