Piano Recital

Ady at piano-with feet

Monday, May 04, 2015
Today I am grateful for piano recitals. It is really nice to see little kids learning an instrument and showing off what they have accomplished.

When I was young my parents attended every single recital, school program or theatrical event I was in. I love that. It’s important for kids that people are there watching them perform. . .nerve wracking for them. . .but important. We try and get to as many special events for our grandchildren as possible. It hasn’t always been easy because some live far away, but we try. We have been to plays, dance and piano recitals and sporting events and enjoyed every one.

I’m glad our extended local family of choice (Liz & Josh) included us when their daughter completed her first book in Suzuki and wanted to share in a personal recital.

Seeing that little girl, with blond braids, wearing a fancy dress, with her feet-on-a-stool and a serious look, sitting at the piano and playing so sweetly, took me back a million years to my own piano recitals. The only difference is I didn’t have to be terrified yesterday. I could just enjoy. And I did. She did a beautiful job with each piece memorized to perfection.

Seeing her piano teacher dad watching her and whispering, “Don’t rush”. . .priceless. It reminded me how blown away I was by his young talent when I met him as a kid, 25 years ago. I’m so glad I was there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Piano Recital

  1. Marge Bowman says:

    Afro 10 years I endured piano recitals memorized, of course. At one recital, one kid, who ended up as a principal at Pennridge Middle School, started over three times before he got over the hump. He stuck with it, anyhow. Enjoyed that little reminisce.

  2. marymooney says:

    That’s why it was great it was only one child! I’ve had the same thing at my granddaughter’s recitals. They play too many songs and there are too many kids.

Leave a Reply

