Pool Deck Dance

Friday, April 3, 2015
Today I am grateful for a spontaneous-pool-deck-dance. My dad was a constant dancer and even though he’s been gone over 23 years I still remember the old radio playing in the kitchen and him grabbing my mom to spin her around a few times while she declared, “Ach, Willie! You want your supper or not? Let me go.” My sister or I were his second choice so off we’d go, dancing with daddy. That’s my disclaimer.

Wednesdays there is a pretty large attendance at the Water-in-Motion class at the Y. I was padding in, waving and chatting up a bunch of women like I usually do. As I rounded the corner to get my weights, some guy in front of me spun around quickly, facing me at very close range. “Do you want to dance?” I asked.

Without skipping a beat, he grabbed me and we were flitting around the pool deck spinning all over the place. He told me about the Argentine Tango he learned when he was on a trip one time and the next thing I knew, my leg was wrapped around him like he was Derek Hough! Geeze. They have a no running rule on the deck, but no one ever said anything about no dancing. Maybe they should.

When I finally got in the pool, my peeps were curious. “Who is that guy? Is he a friend of yours?” they asked almost in unison. “I never saw him before in my life,” I answered.
“But you were just dancing with him,” they pushed on. “Yeah, I know. I wonder who he is?” And we were off into the class.

Maybe I shouldn’t have gotten that injection to get rid of the piercing pain in my hip, if no pain sends me dancing with some stranger! Maybe I’m a little old for that nonsense. It’s just possible I am dangerous. No, duh!

Nah! Besides, I didn’t feel old. . .and that guy didn’t feel like a stranger. . . I felt like I was ten. . . and the radio was playing. . .and my daddy had just grabbed ahold of me for a quick spin around the kitchen! BING! Heartprint!
couple daningdancer9 (2)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pool Deck Dance

  1. MARIE A. BISHOP says:

    You’re a dancing ballerina!!! By the way, Derek did the “leg-wrapping- hold- tight Argentine Tango” on DWTS… Maybe yours was a tad more dramatic?!?!?!? Are we toooo old to have fun?!?!? NAY, I say!!!

Leave a Reply

