New Book

Monday, March 23, 2015
Today I am grateful for starting a new book. Mine. Not to read. To edit. To hone through, picking the crème-de-la-crème of stories I’ve shared. To create structure. To take what I have written over the last year and a half and comprise it into a book that will send publishers into a bidding war, wailing with delight at having “discovered” me. I want to be their latest over-night success. . .after 40 years of trying to find my niche!

Writing is easy. So far I’ve only had maybe two days where I wasn’t sure what I wanted to write about. Two. Not bad. Most of the stories tumble out just like I talk. . .fast. . .loud. . .strong. . .and all the time!

But books are made or broken in the editing process. A writer must be brutal, cutting what isn’t necessary while leaving the true voice and integrity of the piece intact. Cut too little and it’ll ramble on and not make sense. Cut too much and you lose the rhythm of the writer. I love editing. I hate editing. Pass the chips!

My husband fed the printer while it shot off page after page of words. My words. I knew it was a lot, but when he handed me what looked like an entire ream of paper, I was shocked. All I could do was look at it. For a long time. Then I lifted it. Held the weight of it in my hands. . .and heart. It was like holding my soul, my guts, my joys and my tears all at once. Oh how far I’ve come from where I began. And what an awesome journey it has been.

Look at all of the friends I’ve picked up along the way. You. And you. And you, and you. . .and now you! Yeah! Welcome aboard the train! The more the merrier. I am grateful for every minute I will spend on the new book. But first I have to read it. All of it! Let the games begin! Hang on tight! We’re heading for a big curve. . .BING! Heartprint!
book to edit

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

