Precious Memories

Thursday, March 19, 2015
Today I am grateful for precious memories. When we were kids, my sister and I not only shared a room, but also a double bed that was wedged into the tiny room on three sides. I was youngest so I had to climb over her to the wall side. We fought over every inch of turf, corner of pillow and shred of blanket. The picture of Chessie the sleeping railroad cat hung over our bed, attempting to keep the peace.

I think my sister might still have it, but I’m not sure. I only know that whenever I see that picture, I feel a sense of calm, understanding, comfort and hope. That’s a lot to hang on one small sleeping-kitty picture. Last weekend, when my husband fell into bed exhausted after the wedding reception, I remembered that picture and all of those emotions came rushing back. I felt like I was six-years-old.

Past and present. . .both precious memories. . .and I am grateful.
kitten-billboard-chessie-scan

Himself - all done!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Precious Memories

  1. MARIE A. BISHOP says:

    My sister and I had the same arrangements…. Me against the wall and – well you know!!! Still miss her!!!

Leave a Reply

