Grandkids

Monday, March 16, 2015
Today I am grateful for my five grandchildren. I barely have words to express how wonderful it was to have all of them in the same place at the same time. Barely, but you know I’ll find the words! As if I ever can’t. Ha-ha.

I grew up in the same community that my parents did. Most of my cousins were nearby so we’d see them on every holiday at my grandparent’s farm. If someone wanted to host a birthday party then the clan would descend upon that house. Even if some of the togetherness did irritate me sometimes, it was still a great way to grow up. That’s family. You love them, they get on your nerves, you love them anyway.

Most families today don’t have the luxury of living near each other. Jobs, careers, lifestyles and their spouse’s family put distance in the way of tradition. It’s not a bad thing, it’s just how it is. When I say we haven’t had all of our kids (and their kids) in the same place at the same time for over 23 years it sounds like we must be the Hatfield’s and McCoy’s, doing battle over who owns the moonshine still. Not true. We have been with all of them, and they have been with each other. . .just not all at the same time and place.

That is why this occasion, Matt and Susan’s wedding, which everyone was attending, was so important to us. Everyone sacrificed to make it happen. And I am very grateful I got to watch my grandkids re-connect and have a blast together. BING! Heartprint!
Grandkids-cropped-best

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

