Portable Singer Sewing Machine

Monday, March 02, 2015
Today I am grateful for my portable Singer sewing machine. I hate sewing. . .but I’m glad I can sew. And I’m pretty good at it. But I still hate it. Does that make any sense at all? Well why should today be any different? This harks back to the “dress saga”, so buckle up.

I bought a purple dress to wear for my son’s wedding. It was okay, but hugged my least favorite, largest body part a bit much, leaving me feeling uncomfortable. . . unless I could find a pretty jacket to wear over it. Having no success finding one for months I then decided I needed a more formal dress, so I hung the purple into the back of my brain. The formal dress is the correct decision for the ceremony, but what am I going to do with this purple thing?

I know! I’ll make something to go over it and wear it for the rehearsal. I bought fabric, but I couldn’t find a pattern that even came close to what I wanted, so the fabric hung with the dress waiting, waiting, waiting. Then the other day we went to one of my favorite jumbo Women’s stores, Catherine’s and I found what I thought was the perfect light weight jacket. Snapping it up immediately I couldn’t wait to get it home and pair it with the dress. Oooppps! It’s really pretty, funky, tropical and “me”, but it doesn’t match the dress well enough to even convince me. Oh boy, here we go again! I don’t know about you, but I can’t take much more of this dress stuff! I gave the whole crap to my subconscious mind. It ain’t purdy in there. . .yet way more functional than my outside mind.

This morning I woke up knowing I would use the purchased jacket, which is a perfect style, to make a newspaper pattern and then put the pattern on the pretty purple material and sew the blasted jacket I had planned on in the first place. Isn’t the subconscious mind great? Being bi-globally-dis-functional-ultimately-brilliant never leaves me bored!

So today I bagged the Y and got my little paws busy making the pattern, cutting it out and sewing the thing. The bunches of slippery, slinky, beautiful fabric made me nuts! “Slip-Sliding Away”. Remember that old song? Oh. . .It’s all together already. I’m pretty fast, but also picky, which is probably why I hate sewing, so I’m going to do the edge by hand. You’ll get a picture of it later this week.

Although I have to get the instructions out every time so I can even thread it, I am grateful I have my portable Singer sewing machine tucked away, waiting, waiting, waiting. . .ready to go vroom and produce something spectacular!
CIMG4913

CIMG4911

CIMG4912

CIMG4914

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

