Sneakers

043Monday, December 29, 2014

Today I am grateful for sneakers.  I made a statement at Weight Watchers the other day that stuck with me.  Don’t you hate it when your own words come back to haunt?

I had said, “The hardest part about going out for a walk is putting on my sneakers because I wear slippers when I’m home.”  Bam!  Bam! Bam!  It wouldn’t shut up, much like the peppermint-candy-bark that screams “eat me NOW” from the kitchen.

Yesterday I walked all over the blasted mall looking for a specific item to no avail.  I hate shopping.  I hate the mall more.  I hate that the mall was hot (had to be 85 in there—like a sauna) and the floors are slippery and there are no carts so you have to strap your coat and your purse and everything else around you like a pack mule.  I walked a lot but hated it.  Every unsuccessful minute.

So today I woke up and thought about my comment about the sneakers.  When I got dressed, instead of slippers, I put on the sneakers.  It worked.  I had breakfast and read the paper, then decided it was time.  Out I went, into the cool, crisp, sunshine, pokey hair sticking up out of my visor like a pissed off porcupine.

Walking outside beats the blasted mall any day and I am grateful I was motivated by my own words to strap on those sneakers first thing.  The walk was wonderful.  Go figure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

