Post-Wassail Brunch

CIMG4370Sunday, December 14, 2014

Today I am grateful for my annual Post-Wassail Christmas Brunch.  Every year our friends have a huge Wassail.  A lot of family would come from out of town and she would have to feed them all breakfast in the morning after being up half the night entertaining.  One year I said, “Why don’t I do the breakfast/brunch and that’s one less thing you have to worry about.  Of course, she bit on that like a perch on a night crawler, so there you have it.  We are having trouble figuring out how many years it’s been but it started before we went to Indonesia and that was 18 or 19 years ago!  Ah tradition!

The townhouse we now live in presents the biggest challenge.  I want people to be able to eat at tables so I can’t put the buffet there.  We set up a table smack in the middle of the living room for the food, with a smaller table that holds plates and flatware.  The bar goes in the laundry room on my new washer.  Right now I have ham in the crock pot on my bedroom dresser.  The nasi goring (after I reheat and add a few things) goes in the huge roaster in the kitchen.  Desserts used to go on the bed but then the kids never came out of the bedroom so we just scatter them everywhere.

Why am I sitting here typing?  I have things to do.  I am grateful for this traditional brunch, but no pictures until after the event, except me on my throne looking like I don’t have a thing in the world to do with my time.   I gotta go sling hash like a mess hall sergeant!  Go read the Sunday paper with your feet up!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

